Forget thyself and be rewarded

During the last few hours, a wonderful thing happened. I got so immersed in work that I forgot myself. I have just finished reading the stories of my students and filing all the new books which came in for editing. Doing that, I completely forgot that I have my daily post to write.
It’s Saturday, and the day was so full I can not remember what had happened. I woke up drowsy, not from alcohol but from the pill I took last night, after I scratched my self to death, due to a severe allergy attack. It is probably the cats or the season. It is still warm, but Autumn is already here. In the evening the winds blow across the mountain and it’s getting cold.
I was drowsy also because I wrote until very late last night, 02.00 a.m., baked a cake for Shabat, grilled 10 hamburgers on the plancha and put it in the freeze.

This morning, after writing my morning pages, and having breakfast with the boys, they invited their friends, our neighbors, two sisters, to play with. They played upstairs, while I vacuumed their room. When I finished I asked their mother and asked her to take care of all four of them while I will spend some time in the local gym.
I went to the gym, put classical music on my smartphone, and had an hour training. This was great. When I came back home I called the kids back, and they all went into our swimming pool. This was the time that I saw fit for writing. I took out my old typing machine and wrote my 1000 words while watching them in the water.
When they ran outside again, I started cooking. I follow the instructions of my neighbor naturopath, so I cooked legumes – chard pancakes with Gram flour, green lentils with vegetables, and potatoes cubes for Samosa.

It was just then that I saw my brother’s post on Facebook, a picture in which he stands in front of the military base where he served many years ago. I called him immediately and invited them to a meal.
My brother and sister in law are into Paleo. And because the cake I baked last night wasn’t, I decided to surprise them with Paleo brownies. so I baked again.
We had a wonderful time together, and when they left I fell on my bed for an hour. The boys stayed downstairs, watching television.
This was good because after another out-door hour with friends they ate and went to sleep early, not before listening to me, reading them the story of Thumbelina.
This was a hectic day indeed. but full of happiness.

I have six books to edit in the nearest future. I already signed for two novels and a poetry book. I also agreed to teach two writing courses in Tel Aviv and another 3 courses in the Gellile. This is total craziness because I also have to continue writing my next novel and develop my last novel into scripts.
Being a single gay father of twins is no fun when you are also a prolific writer and a highly reputed editor and teacher. You can help me out of this by backing up my crowdfunding campaign at https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/a-single-gay-father-s-writing-retreat-lgbt#/.
Thanks,
Ilan.

Leave a comment